Godot 2D Pixel Platformer Devlog 0

Table of contents

Intro

For the longest time, I've been wanting to make a 2D pixel platformer because I like the art style so much and I grew up on platformers. I have tried in the past but either I didn't have a fun idea or the game engine wasn't right.

I decided to push through and make a prototype and see where it goes. I've decided on using Godot since it feels like it's meant for 2D games. Also, I have grown tired of using Unity and from the little experience I have with Unity's 2D tools, it's not great.

Implementation

Art by ansimuz

I started placing by drawing a plain walking area to start implementing player movement. Something I learned during the process is Godot has template scripts for certain scenes so I didn't have to program the core movement. Instead, I added logic for animations and tweaking the movement.

Godot Template Scripts

I added some animation and made sure to flip them right so the player faces the direction it's moving towards and I got a player walking around with a running animation.

Signing out

Chris